Wednesday, April 02, 2008

Percy Jackson and the Olympians series by Rick Riordan

Percy Jackson is a 12-year old boy in current-day New York. He's been kicked out of 6 schools in 6 years, he's dyslexic and has ADHD, and his dad left when he Percy was little. And he just doesn't know why such strange things seem to keep happening to him--at least, not until he vaporizes one of his teachers during a field trip. Turns out that Percy Jackson is the demigod son of Poseidon (yes, THE Poseidon, Greek god of the sea) and a mortal woman. Also turns out that demigods are prime targets for the Titans because of their special abilities--and because of a prophecy that basically says that a half-blood will decide the fate of the world. Now, if it sounds like I've given too much away, never fear. What I've told you is just the tip of the iceberg.

The series includes (in order):

The Lightning Thief (Book 1)
The Sea of Monsters (Book 2)
The Titan's Curse (Book 3)
The Battle of the Labyrinth (Book 4)
The Last Olympian (Book 5)

Librarians and Teachers--this series is excellent for readers who have finished the Mary Pope Osborne Tales from the Odyssey series or for readers who enjoy great adventure with lots of battles and a bit of mystery. The series is a double win for librarians in that it will appeal to students interested in Greek mythology and to students who are interested in a great romp of an adventure. Readers who come at the series from a love of mythology tend to start getting interested in reading more adventure. Readers who come at the series from a love of adventure stories tend to get interested in learning more about Greek mythology.

1 comment:

  1. R -

    The Battle of the Labyrinth is due out May 6, 2008.

    And from what I've read there is one more book to be done.